[lin_video src=http://eplayer.clipsyndicate.com/embed/player.js?aspect_ratio=16x9&auto_next=1&auto_start=0&div_id=videoplayer-1372632750&height=400&page_count=5&pf_id=9622&show_title=1&va_id=4122669&width=600&windows=1 service=syndicaster width=600 height=400 div_id=videoplayer-1372632750 type=script]
Starting Monday, July 1st, new laws go into effect in Kansas, including one that allows more guns in some public buildings.
Public buildings in Kansas towns, cities and counties will do one of two things – either allow concealed carry or provide metal detectors and security guards.
“Public authorities need to be concerned about liability issues that they raise when they deny my right to carry concealed and yet they provide no security,” says Senator Forrest Knox of Altoona.
Some municipalities, including Topeka and Shawnee County have applied for a six-month exemption to work on that security.
So public buildings in Topeka and Shawnee County that don’t have adequate security measures have to replace signs with new specific ones until they can get them.
“I think no city has developed that security plan at this point, obviously, and i assume there will be some info coming about what needs to be included in those plans between now and January 1st, 2014.
Some don’t think those plans will actually happen.
“I understand the process of laying out a plan but at the end of six months, we’re going to have the exact same secure buildings as we have right now and I don’t think we’re going to be any different because we don’t have the money.”
Senator Forrest Knox who crafted these regulations says in the future, this will be a non-issue.
“In four years this will go away and become very simple, you provide adequate security or you don’t post, it’ll be very simple,” Knox says.
Another law that goes into effect Monday – one that enforces new abortion restrictions. It bans sex-selection abortions, blocks tax breaks for abortion providers and prohibits them from furnishing materials or instructors for public schools’ sexuality courses.
Also going into effect Monday is a law requiring roofing contractors to register with the Attorney General’s office before they get paid for that work. The law says roofers must be 18-years-old and show they carry $500,000 in liability insurance. The Attorney General’s office expects to charge a $250 annual registration fee.